Assistance Listing 10.854
Rural Economic Development Loans and Grants
Rural Business Cooperative Service · Department of Agriculture
The verdict for a small nonprofit
54% of awards go to organizations new to this program, but recipient types are not reported for most awards, so the nonprofit share is unknown.
Based on 99 new awards in FY2023–25. The median award is $300,000. Expect about 303 days between posting and deadline.
- First-time winners
- 54%
- of new awards, last 3 FYs
- Nonprofit share
- n/a
- recipient types not reported for most awards
- Under-$1M orgs
- n/a
- revenue join unavailable
- Median award
- $300K
- $300K – $300K middle half
- New awards, FY2025
- 32
- $9.0M committed to them
- Usually posts
- Aug
- rolling · 303-day window
Open right now under this program
Nothing open · from Grants.gov, checked every 10 minutes
Who won in FY2025
Largest recipients by dollars. From USAspending.
| Recipient | Type | State | Awards | Awarded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Blue Ridge Electric Membership Corporation | Other | NC | 13 | $3,105,030 |
| Four County Electric Membership Corporation | Other | NC | 11 | $3,300,000 |
| PEE DEE Electric Membership Corp | Other | NC | 7 | $1,566,472 |
| Tri-County Electric Membership Corp | Other | NC | 5 | $1,500,000 |
| Northeast Missouri Electric Power Cooperative | Other | MO | 5 | $1,500,000 |
| Heartland Consumers Power District | Other | SD | 4 | $1,200,000 |
| Iowa Lakes Electric Cooperative | Other | IA | 4 | $1,179,426 |
| North West Rural Electric Cooperative | Other | IA | 4 | $1,108,000 |
| Randolph Electric Membership Corporation | Other | NC | 4 | $1,080,000 |
| Macon Electric Cooperative | Other | MO | 4 | $748,000 |
New awards by fiscal year
Awards first made in each fiscal year; dollars are the total committed to that year's new awards over their life.
| FY | New awards | Committed | Median | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 26 | $6.7M | $300K | $250K – $300K |
| 2022 | 35 | $9.4M | $300K | $300K – $300K |
| 2023 | 36 | $9.4M | $300K | $300K – $300K |
| 2024 | 31 | $8.5M | $300K | $300K – $300K |
| 2025 | 32 | $9.0M | $300K | $300K – $300K |
Past rounds
Every announcement under this listing that Grants.gov still lists. Use it to plan next year.
| Posted | Closed | Window | Announcement |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2024-08-26 | 2025-06-30 | 308 d | RD-RBCS-25-REDLG · Rural Economic Development Loan and Grant |
| 2023-12-18 | 2024-06-30 | 195 d | RD-RBCS-24-REDLG · Rural Economic Development Loan and Grant |
| 2022-08-31 | 2023-06-30 | 303 d | RD-RBCS-23-REDLG · Rural Economic Development Loan and Grant |
Common questions
How hard is it to win a grant under 10.854?
54% of awards go to organizations new to this program, but recipient types are not reported for most awards, so the nonprofit share is unknown. Based on 99 new awards in FY2023–25. The median award is $300,000. Expect about 303 days between posting and deadline.
How much does Rural Economic Development Loans and Grants award?
In FY2025 the median new award was $300K; the middle half ran from $300K to $300K. 32 new awards were made, with $9.0M committed to them.
When does 10.854 usually post?
Over the last several years, new rounds most often posted in Aug with about 303 days to apply. The most recent round posted Aug 26, 2024.
Who runs this program?
Department of Agriculture (Rural Business Cooperative Service). Assistance Listing 10.854 on SAM.gov describes the authorizing statute and standard terms.
Sources: USAspending FY2021–25 award archive (2026-10-06); Grants.gov Search2 (fetched 2026-10-28); IRS EO BMF (fetched 2026-10-28). Award counts are new awards by fiscal year of first action. Shares are computed from award counts, not dollars. Recipient type comes from the award record's business-type codes. Always confirm details in the official announcement.