Assistance Listing 93.117
Preventive Medicine Residency
Health Resources and Services Administration · Department of Health and Human Services
The verdict for a small nonprofit
37% of awards go to organizations new to this program, but recipient types are not reported for most awards, so the nonprofit share is unknown.
Based on 19 new awards in FY2023–23. The median award is $1,594,161. Expect about 62 days between posting and deadline.
- First-time winners
- 37%
- of new awards, last 3 FYs
- Nonprofit share
- n/a
- recipient types not reported for most awards
- Under-$1M orgs
- n/a
- revenue join unavailable
- Median award
- $1.6M
- $1.5M – $1.6M middle half
- New awards, FY2023
- 19
- $28M committed to them
- Usually posts
- Sep
- irregular · 62-day window
Open right now under this program
Nothing open · from Grants.gov, checked every 10 minutes
Who won in FY2023
Largest recipients by dollars. From USAspending.
| Recipient | Type | State | Awards | Awarded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Regents of the University of California, San Francisco, the | Other | CA | 2 | $2,953,943 |
| Loma Linda University | Other | CA | 1 | $1,595,694 |
| Regents of the University of Michigan | Other | MI | 1 | $1,595,691 |
| Mainehealth | Other | ME | 1 | $1,595,691 |
| The Research Foundation for the State University of New York | Other | NY | 1 | $1,595,690 |
| University of California, Los Angeles | Other | CA | 1 | $1,595,690 |
| The Morehouse School of Medicine, INC. | Other | GA | 1 | $1,595,690 |
| University of California, San Diego | Other | CA | 1 | $1,595,666 |
| The Johns Hopkins University | Other | MD | 1 | $1,595,213 |
| University of Mississippi Medical Center | Other | MS | 1 | $1,594,161 |
New awards by fiscal year
Awards first made in each fiscal year; dollars are the total committed to that year's new awards over their life.
| FY | New awards | Committed | Median | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 | 19 | $28M | $1.6M | $1.5M – $1.6M |
Past rounds
Every announcement under this listing that Grants.gov still lists. Use it to plan next year.
| Posted | Closed | Window | Announcement |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022-09-20 | 2022-11-21 | 62 d | HRSA-23-004 · Preventive Medicine Residency |
| 2017-11-09 | 2018-01-26 | 78 d | HRSA-18-008 · Preventive Medicine Residency Program |
| 2015-03-31 | 2015-05-29 | 59 d | HRSA-15-143 · Preventive Medicine Residency with Integrative Health Care Training Program |
| 2014-05-12 | 2014-06-13 | 32 d | HRSA-14-123 · Center for Integrative Medicine in Primary Care Program |
| 2012-09-13 | 2012-11-28 | 76 d | HRSA-13-174 · Preventive Medicine and Public Health Training Grant Program |
| 2012-06-15 | 2012-07-16 | 31 d | HRSA-12-180 · Integrative Medicine Program (IMP) |
| 2012-06-15 | 2012-07-16 | 31 d | HRSA-12-182 · National coordinating center for Integrative Medicine |
Common questions
How hard is it to win a grant under 93.117?
37% of awards go to organizations new to this program, but recipient types are not reported for most awards, so the nonprofit share is unknown. Based on 19 new awards in FY2023–23. The median award is $1,594,161. Expect about 62 days between posting and deadline.
How much does Preventive Medicine Residency award?
In FY2023 the median new award was $1.6M; the middle half ran from $1.5M to $1.6M. 19 new awards were made, with $28M committed to them.
When does 93.117 usually post?
Over the last several years, new rounds most often posted in Sep with about 62 days to apply. The most recent round posted Sep 20, 2022.
Who runs this program?
Department of Health and Human Services (Health Resources and Services Administration). Assistance Listing 93.117 on SAM.gov describes the authorizing statute and standard terms.
Sources: USAspending FY2021–25 award archive (2026-10-06); Grants.gov Search2 (fetched 2026-10-28); IRS EO BMF (fetched 2026-10-28). Award counts are new awards by fiscal year of first action. Shares are computed from award counts, not dollars. Recipient type comes from the award record's business-type codes. Always confirm details in the official announcement.