Assistance Listing 93.516

Public Health Training Centers Program

Health Resources and Services Administration · Department of Health and Human Services

The verdict for a small nonprofit

Recipient types are not reported for most awards under this program, so read the past winners below before you commit time.

Based on 1 new awards in FY2022–23. The median award is $2,355,085. Expect about 61 days between posting and deadline.

First-time winners
—
of new awards, last 3 FYs
Nonprofit share
n/a
recipient types not reported for most awards
Under-$1M orgs
n/a
revenue join unavailable
Median award
$2.4M
$2.4M – $2.4M middle half
New awards, FY2023
1
$2.4M committed to them
Usually posts
Jun
irregular · 61-day window

Open right now under this program

Nothing open · from Grants.gov, checked every 10 minutes

No open announcement under 93.516 today. New rounds usually post in Jun. Sign up and we'll email you when one opens.

Who won in FY2023

Largest recipients by dollars. From USAspending.

RecipientTypeStateAwardsAwarded
Loma Linda UniversityOtherCA2$4,503,518
Board of Regents of the University of NebraskaOtherNE2$4,486,111
Wayne State UniversityOtherMI2$4,077,579
University of Kentucky Research Foundation, theOtherKY2$3,902,681
University of IllinoisOtherIL2$3,530,600
Emory UniversityOtherGA2$3,013,558
University of California, Los AngelesOtherCA2$1,986,696
Michigan Department of Labor and Economic OpportunityOtherMI1$3,000,000
Minnesota Department of HealthOtherMN1$3,000,000
Affiliated Service Providers of Indiana INCOtherIN1$3,000,000

New awards by fiscal year

Awards first made in each fiscal year; dollars are the total committed to that year's new awards over their life.

FYNew awardsCommittedMedianMiddle half
2022112$238M$2.2M$1.5M – $3.0M
20231$2.4M$2.4M$2.4M – $2.4M

Past rounds

Every announcement under this listing that Grants.gov still lists. Use it to plan next year.

PostedClosedWindowAnnouncement
2026-06-152026-07-1732 dHRSA-26-078 · Public Health Training Centers (PHTC) Program
2022-04-142022-06-1461 dHRSA-22-124 · Community Health Worker Training Program (CHWTP)
2022-03-292022-06-0164 dHRSA-22-122 · Public Health Scholarship Program
2021-11-242022-01-2461 dHRSA-22-055 · Regional Public Health Training Centers (PHTC) Program
2017-11-142018-01-1966 dHRSA-18-017 · Regional Public Health Training Centers (PHTC) Program
2014-04-172014-06-0953 dHRSA-14-119 · National Coordinating Center for Public Health Training (NCCPHT)
2014-04-172014-06-0953 dHRSA-14-076 · Regional Public Health Training Center Program
2011-03-212011-05-2363 dHRSA-11-142 · Public Health Training Center

Common questions

How hard is it to win a grant under 93.516?

Recipient types are not reported for most awards under this program, so read the past winners below before you commit time. Based on 1 new awards in FY2022–23. The median award is $2,355,085. Expect about 61 days between posting and deadline.

How much does Public Health Training Centers Program award?

In FY2023 the median new award was $2.4M; the middle half ran from $2.4M to $2.4M. 1 new awards were made, with $2.4M committed to them.

When does 93.516 usually post?

Over the last several years, new rounds most often posted in Jun with about 61 days to apply. The most recent round posted Jun 15, 2026.

Who runs this program?

Department of Health and Human Services (Health Resources and Services Administration). Assistance Listing 93.516 on SAM.gov describes the authorizing statute and standard terms.

Sources: USAspending FY2021–25 award archive (2026-10-06); Grants.gov Search2 (fetched 2026-10-28); IRS EO BMF (fetched 2026-10-28). Award counts are new awards by fiscal year of first action. Shares are computed from award counts, not dollars. Recipient type comes from the award record's business-type codes. Always confirm details in the official announcement.

Email me matching grants