Assistance Listing 93.925
Scholarships for Health Professions Students from Disadvantaged Backgrounds
Health Resources and Services Administration · Department of Health and Human Services
The verdict for a small nonprofit
Recipient types are not reported for most awards under this program, so read the past winners below before you commit time.
Based on 1 new awards in FY2021–24. The median award is $1,357,548. Expect about 32 days between posting and deadline.
- First-time winners
- —
- of new awards, last 3 FYs
- Nonprofit share
- n/a
- recipient types not reported for most awards
- Under-$1M orgs
- n/a
- revenue join unavailable
- Median award
- $1.4M
- $1.4M – $1.4M middle half
- New awards, FY2024
- 1
- $1.4M committed to them
- Usually posts
- Jun
- irregular · 32-day window
Open right now under this program
Nothing open · from Grants.gov, checked every 10 minutes
Who won in FY2024
Largest recipients by dollars. From USAspending.
| Recipient | Type | State | Awards | Awarded |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| University of Memphis | Other | TN | 3 | $7,074,660 |
| Northern Arizona University | Other | AZ | 2 | $6,549,882 |
| William James College INC | Other | MA | 2 | $6,549,882 |
| Texas Southern University | Other | TX | 2 | $5,940,935 |
| Charles R. Drew University of Medicine and Science | Other | CA | 2 | $5,749,109 |
| Winston-Salem State University | Other | NC | 2 | $5,055,586 |
| Howard University | Other | DC | 2 | $5,008,142 |
| Florida International University | Other | FL | 2 | $3,739,539 |
| University of Washington | Other | WA | 1 | $4,178,364 |
| Bastyr University | Other | WA | 1 | $4,113,434 |
New awards by fiscal year
Awards first made in each fiscal year; dollars are the total committed to that year's new awards over their life.
| FY | New awards | Committed | Median | Middle half |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 | 64 | $174M | $3.0M | $2.1M – $3.3M |
| 2024 | 1 | $1.4M | $1.4M | $1.4M – $1.4M |
Past rounds
Every announcement under this listing that Grants.gov still lists. Use it to plan next year.
| Posted | Closed | Window | Announcement |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2026-06-26 | 2026-07-28 | 32 d | HRSA-26-096 · Scholarships for Disadvantaged Students (SDS) |
| 2020-01-03 | 2020-03-03 | 60 d | HRSA-20-006 · Scholarships for Disadvantaged Students |
| 2015-11-25 | 2016-01-25 | 61 d | HRSA-16-069 · Scholarships for Disadvantaged Students (SDS) |
| 2012-05-23 | 2012-06-22 | 30 d | HRSA-12-079 · Scholarships for Disadvantaged Students (SDS) |
| 2011-01-26 | 2011-02-28 | 33 d | HRSA-11-074 · Scholarships for Disadvantaged Students |
| 2010-04-16 | 2010-06-01 | 46 d | HRSA-10-111 · Scholarships for Disadvantaged Students |
| 2008-11-13 | 2008-12-15 | 32 d | HRSA-09-127 · Scholarships for Disadvantaged Students |
Common questions
How hard is it to win a grant under 93.925?
Recipient types are not reported for most awards under this program, so read the past winners below before you commit time. Based on 1 new awards in FY2021–24. The median award is $1,357,548. Expect about 32 days between posting and deadline.
How much does Scholarships for Health Professions Students from Disadvantaged Backgrounds award?
In FY2024 the median new award was $1.4M; the middle half ran from $1.4M to $1.4M. 1 new awards were made, with $1.4M committed to them.
When does 93.925 usually post?
Over the last several years, new rounds most often posted in Jun with about 32 days to apply. The most recent round posted Jun 26, 2026.
Who runs this program?
Department of Health and Human Services (Health Resources and Services Administration). Assistance Listing 93.925 on SAM.gov describes the authorizing statute and standard terms.
Sources: USAspending FY2021–25 award archive (2026-10-06); Grants.gov Search2 (fetched 2026-10-28); IRS EO BMF (fetched 2026-10-28). Award counts are new awards by fiscal year of first action. Shares are computed from award counts, not dollars. Recipient type comes from the award record's business-type codes. Always confirm details in the official announcement.